SHIELD OF THE HUANUCO DEPARTMENT
The department of Huánuco presents/displays two types of very different geography: the mountain range and the high forest. The Andean zone is marked by the presence of the Mountain range of Huayhuash and the high forest extends throughout the Eastern flank of the $andes.
The city of Huánuco, capital of the department of the same name, rests to borders of the Huallaga river and the zone is well-known by its production of fruits, coffee and cacao. In these earth were the rest of the oldest occupation in Peru, the man of Lauricocha, and in the outskirts, in Kotosh, is the Temple of the Crossed Hands. In Huánuco Pampas interesting constructions can be observed that date from the time of the Incas.
Founded on 1539, the city of Huánuco had an important cultural movement in the colony and belong to that time the Cathedral and the churches of San Francisco, San Cristóbal and the Favor, among others.
By Tingo Maria, to about 120 km of Huánuco, the mighty Huallaga river runs. There Park finds National Tingo Maria (4777 it has), which it protects a great variety of flora (orquídeas, nail of cat and blood of degree) and fauna (tigrillos, jaguars, reptiles, sachavacas, guácharos, the gallito of rocks and cotomono) and where the mountain range Pumaringri extends, also well-known like the Beautiful Sleeper because it is resembled the form of a tended woman.
The Cave of the Lechuzas is home of nocturnal birds, while in the Cave of the Turkey hens crystalline water wells exist and abundant vegetation.
ATTRACTIVE TURISTICOS OF THE CITY OF HUANUCO
Founded on 1539, the city was host of a strong cultural movement in the colony, which is in the architecture of its churches like the Cathedral, San Francisco and San Cristóbal, who in addition keeps valuable pieces from colonial art.
Seat of Arms of the city of Huánuco
Located in downtown, it conserves a central sink that was carved by the Italian architect Julio Seretti in 1845. It was used as it bases a stone that would have been object of cult for the old settlers of the zone in pre-Hispanic times. This stone is of granite in a single piece and has 4 meters of height.
Cathedral of the city of Huánuco
Located in the Jr Dámaso Beraún 701. Visits: L-D 8:00-20:00.
Constructed in 1966, it contains a linen cloth collection of the Cusqueña School and a stature barroca in wood of the Gentleman of Towns, King and Pattern of Huánuco, work of Hieronymite of Scorcetto. They also emphasize its baroque candelabra of silver, almost 2 meters of height.
Church San Francisco
Located in the Jr Damaso Beraún cdra. 4 s/n. Visits: L-D 6:00-10:00 and 17:00-20:00.
Constructed initially in 1560 and remodelada many years later in neoclassic style. The golden altars conserve their colonial and racially mixed baroque style. Between his colonial paintings and sculptures they emphasize works of the Spanish priest Lorenzo Valentino.
Church of Christ King
Located in Jr Two of May 899, Santo Domingo Square. Visits: L-D 6:00-10:00 and 17:00-20:00.
Resaltante of this church reconstructed in 1824 it is his main altar that is bathed in gold bread.
Church of the Favor
Located in the Jr Hermilio Valdizán cdra. 4. Visits: 6:00-10:00 and 17:00-20:00.
Founded in 1600 by the Real Lieutenant Don Pedro Rodriguez and their wife Maria Gonzales. Its architecture is of Romanesque style; the greater altar is neoclassic and in him it emphasizes the image of the Virgin of the Mercedes, in addition to the silver tabernacle that dates from the colonial time. Others of their attractiveness are: two pictures of the School Cusqueña of anonymous authors, two images of the Purest Virgin and the Heart of Jesus flattered by King Felipe II, an altarpiece bathed in gold bread and a Renaissance picture with the face of Christ painted in copper lamina coming from the Flamenco School. Its parochial file contains the games of baptism of the hero huanuqueño Leoncio Prado, the musician Daniel Alomía Robles and the precursor of the insurgent movement for the independence of Peru in the city of the Cusco, Jose Gabriel Aguilar Nalvarte.
Church San Cristóbal
Located in the intersection of the Jr San Cristóbal and Jr. Dámaso Beraún, Square San Cristóbal. Visits: mass schedule.
First temple constructed by the Spaniards in the city of Huánuco in 1542. Conserve very old wood statures with representations of the Virgin of Asuncio'n, the Painful Virgin and San Agustín.
Museum of Natural Sciences
Located in the General Jr Prado 499. Visits: L-S 8:00-12:00 and 15:00-19:00.
It contains more than 10 thousand pieces, between which are ceramios of diverse original Hispanic cultures and momias of Huánuco and Paracas.
Kotosh or Templo of the Crossed Hands
To 5 km to the west of the city of Huánuco (5 minutes in car).
Archaeological complex with more than 4000 years of antiquity. Three superposed temples exist: Nichitos, Target and the one of the Crossed Hands. This last one presents/displays five niches; the sides of the greater niche the sculptures of the crossed hands are observed. In one of them, the right hand rests on the left and in the other, the left on the right; one thinks that it corresponds to some notion of present dualidad in the cosmovisión of these old settlers.
Distances from the city of Huánuco:
- Ambo Province of Ambo) 24 km/25 minutes.
- the Union (Province of Two of May) 137 km/5 hours.
- Huacaybamba (Province of Huacaybamba) 293 km.
- Llata (Province of Huamalíes) 172 km/5 hours.
- Tingo Maria (Province of Leoncio Prado) 120 km/2 hours and 30 minutes.
- Huacrachuco (Province of Marañón) 358 km.
- Panao (Province of Pachitea) 63 km/2 hours.
- Port Inca (Province of Port Inca) 362 km/12 hours.
- Jesus (Province of Lauricocha) 81 km/3 hours.
- Chavinillo (Province of Yarowilca) 72 km/3 hours.
Página web creada el 30 de marzo del 2005.
© Copyright 2005 Gualberto Valderrama C.